Board of Commisioners

Current Members of the Board:

  • Dan Crowley - Chairman

  • Commissioner Tracey Powell (St. Tammany Parish)

  • Commissioner Kevin Davis (St. Tammany Parish)

  • Commissioner Mike Rich (City of Slidell)

  • Commissioner Jeff McDowell (City of Slidell)

Five Member Board:

  • Governing Body of the Fire Protection District

  • Two members are appointed by the parish governing body. (St. Tammany Parish)

  • Two Members are appointed by the municipal corporation in the district (The City of Slidell)

  • The Chairman of the Board is appointed by the other four members.

Members serve 2 year term:

  • Terms are staggered

  • Members are eligible for reappointment.

  • If a vacancy occurs, it shall be filled for the unexpired term by the body originally making the appointment.

Duties and Responsibilities of the board of commissioners include:

  • Fixing time and place of regular meetings

  • Levying taxes

  • Operating and controlling property acquired by the district

  • All things necessary to carry out the purpose for which the district was created.  This includes appointing such officers and agents to perform duties determined by the board

  • For more information on the duties of the BOC, please click here: 

Meetings are held monthly:

  • Third Tuesday of each month 6:00 pm at either the Towers Building (located at 520 Old Spanish Trail, Slidell, LA 70458) or the STFPD#1 Training Academy (located at 34780 South Range Rd., Slidell, LA 70460). Location will be posted at time of notice of meeting.

  • The agenda is prepared, published and posted by the Chairman at least 48 hours in advance.  It can be found here on the website or in the recognized publications (Currently The Times Picayune/  -  The Slidell Independant  -  The St. Tammany Farmer )

» Board of Commissioners By-Laws
Home | About Us | Public Awareness | Divisions | Local Information | Photo Album | News | Contact
┬ęCopyright 2015 St. Tammany Fire Protection District 1